The Heritage Centre, which you will find at the end of South Hermitage Street adjacent to the football ground, opens Good Friday 3rd April until 31st October each day from 1.30pm till 4.30pm, except Tuesdays. Private viewings can be arranged.
Admission Charges: adults £2.00, children over 12 £1.00.
Liddesdale residents free.
The museum, in the former Townfoot Kirk in Newcastleton, houses attractive displays portraying the history and culture of Liddesdale and its people. The Waverley Route, the churches, village shops and local trades, including farming, clogging, shoe making, weaving and joinery are all represented. Learn about the origins of the village in 1793 and of its history, depicted in the beautiful tapestry created to celebrate the bi-centenary of the village.
The family history area has old parish registers, census returns and graveyard records among it's collection available for research.
Each year the Centre hosts a different display or exhibition. Examples in the past have been The Waverly Line, Embroiderers' Guild, Churches of Liddesdale and street life in the Borders Towns. This years presentation is The Border Reivers. These are on display thorughout July and August.
In September the society hosts an annual trip from the village to such places as New Lanark, Woodburn Colliery Museum, Durham, Holy Island and Alnwick.
In October we host the annual village auction at the Village Hall to raise money for the maintenance of the Centre.
More photos of the Heritage Centre can be found on the main website photo gallery.
For further information, contact the secretary Fraser Maclean on 013873 75637 email: email@example.com